BIA Networking Lunch - Stevenage

Tuesday 8 September 2020

Join us in Stevenage for another popular BIA networking lunch. This a great opportunity to network, meet new contacts, and hear from local BIA members.


Draft agenda:

10.45:  Registration
11.00:  Workshop
12.00:  Lunch and networking
13.00:  BIA update, Steve Bates, CEO, BIA
13:10:  Welcome/update from SBC
13.20:  Welcome/update from GSK
13:30:  Presentations, speakers tbc
14:15:  Networking, tea/coffee provided
14:45:  Close


Address: GSK, Gunnels Wood Road, Stevenage Herts, SG1 2NY


Cost and T&Cs

This BIA regional networking event is free to attend for both members and non-members.

By registering for this event you accept our Terms & Conditions.



Steve Bates

Chief Executive Officer


Steve Bates has been the CEO of the UK Bioindustry Association since 2012. He currently chairs the International Council of Biotech Associations and has been a Board member of Europabio since 2015. Steve is the visible face of the vibrant UK life sciences industry to government and media. He sits on the UK’s Life Sciences Council and Life Sciences Industrial Strategy Implementation Board. Steve has championed with government effective industrial incentives like the Biomedical Cataylst which have crowded-in private sector investment into UK SMES. He has forged links for the sector across the USA, Europe and in China. In his time at the BIA Steve has developed new member groups focused on cell and gene therapy, genomics and engineered biology. A strong advocate of partnership working, Steve champions sector collaboration with research charities and academia. Proud to lead an organisation with a diverse Board with over 40% female representation, Steve is committed to next generation talent and developing the skills needed for the sector to flourish. Before the BIA, Steve worked for Genzyme and as an advisor to the UK Government of Tony Blair. He was made OBE for services to innovation in 2017.

Thank you to our event partners


Thank you to our event supporter


BIA Annual Supporters